Diversity Access Team

The Research:

The Diversity Access Team is assessing, tailoring, implementing, and evaluating ACP tools aimed at minority populations. In multicultural countries such as Australia and the United States, emerging research suggests that there are significant disparities in EOL care planning and decision making for ethnic and sexual minorities compared to mainstream populations.

Work to date:

Over the past year the Diversity Access Team has conducted a series of focus groups with LGBT, Chinese and South Asian older adults and their supporters, as well as staff of an exclusively Chinese and a multi-cultural care home. The objective was to ascertain their perceptions of ACP, barriers and facilitators to engaging in ACP, and concerning the cultural appropriateness of select ACP tools. The next step will comprise a series of recommendations for tool modification which will be shared across the three sectors of iCAN-ACP.

Principal Investigator:

Gloria GutmanGloria Gutman, PhD, FCAHS, C.M., O.B.C., LLD(Hon.)

Simon Fraser University

Gloria Gutman is Professor Emerita in the Gerontology Department and a Research Associate in the Gerontology Research Centre at Simon Fraser University (SFU), having founded and directed both from 1982 to 2005. Dr. Gutman is a past president of the International Association of Gerontology and Geriatrics (IAGG) and the International Network for Prevention of Elder Abuse (INPEA). She is currently the President of the North American chapter of the International Society for Gerontechnology (ISG) and has a distinguished international record of academic and advisory service. Dr. Gutman completed her undergraduate degree and doctorate at the University of British Columbia and her masters at the University of Alberta.  Her research interests are wide-ranging; including seniors’ housing, long term care, health promotion, dementia care, environmental design of age-friendly hospitals and cities, and seniors emergency preparedness.


Dr. Brian DeVries, PhD
Dr. Jacqueline Gahagan, PhD

Research Staff:

Ms. Shimae Soheilipour, Research Coordinator, DDS, PhD
Dr. Robert Beringer, Research Assistant, PhD
Mr. Brock Nicholson, Research Assistant
Ms. Helen Kwan, Research Assistant
Ms. Taranjot Kaur, Research Assistant
Ms. Avantika Vashisht, Research Assistant
Ms. Katrina Jang, Research Assistant